11th Annual SVRTC Awards Banquet

Seven people standing with awards.
Above: Amelia County faculty gathers to celebrate the awards received at the 2017 SVRTC Annual Technology Banquet.

The Southside Virginia Regional Technology Consortium (SVRTC) celebrated the 11th annual SVRTC Technology awards banquet on Thursday, March 23, 2017 at Longwood University.  Nineteen SVRTC school divisions were represented with over 100 SVRTC members in attendance, including eight division superintendents.  The program included a welcome by Dr. Paul Chapman, Dean of the College of Education and Human Services and a glimpse of the 2016-2017 SVRTC efforts and accomplishments, aligned with the Consortium’s strategic plan, was presented by Dr. Paula Leach, Director of the Institute for Teaching through Technology and Innovative Practices (ITTIP).

There were fifty-four awards presented to SVRTC members, celebrating the work and advancements they have facilitated in their divisions.   There were two competitive awards.  The Technology Leadership award was presented to Dr. Jack McKinley, Amelia County School Division Superintendent, and the Division Leadership award that was presented to Amelia County Schools. Under Dr. McKinley’s leadership, Amelia County Public Schools has launched several STEM initiatives, adopted blended learning instructional models, began rolling out Chromebooks and training to support their one-to-one initiatives, and have set some robust digital literacy goals for their county, among other efforts in the last 12 months, advancing technology in the educational setting.

A complete awards list of the 2017 recipients can be found here.  You can also learn more about the awards and there descriptions by viewing the application information.  Pictures from the event can be found in the SVRTC picture gallery.

2017 Awardees

SVRTC DivisionAwardeeSVRTC Technology Award
Amelia County Public SchoolsWilliam FlemmingTechnology Teacher
Amelia County Public SchoolsSylvia HicksInstructional Support
Amelia County Public SchoolsJessica DuffeyTechnology Support
Appomattox County Public SchoolsRonald LankfordTechnology Support
Appomattox County Public SchoolsDaniella GauldenTechnology Teacher
Appomattox County Public SchoolsDana HamlettInstructional Support
Brunswick County Public SchoolsCurtis HurteTechnology Support
Brunswick County Public SchoolsCynthia QuejadoTechnology Teacher
Charlotte County Public SchoolsClaire LockeInstructional Support
Colonial Heights City Public SchoolsPiotr KaminskiTechnology Support
Colonial Heights City SchoolsBill RyanTechnology Teacher
Cumberland County Public SchoolsKatherine LeeTechnology Support
Cumberland County Public SchoolsAshley LongTechnology Teacher
Cumberland County Public SchoolsAnita HarrisInstructional Support
Danville City Public SchoolsJohn Patrick StoweTechnology Support
Danville City Public SchoolsAmy BarnesTechnology Teacher
Danville City Public SchoolsCori SowersInstructional Support
Dinwiddie County Public SchoolsBrian HicksTechnology Support
Dinwiddie County Public SchoolsLaurel BishopTechnology Teacher
Dinwiddie County Public SchoolsRobert WeaverInstructional Support
Franklin City Public SchoolsBrandon YannaTechnology Teacher
Franklin City Public SchoolsRobert EubanksTechnology Support
Halifax County Public SchoolsKathy ReaganTechnology Support
Halifax County Public SchoolsErica GrubbsTechnology Teacher
Halifax County Public SchoolsChristie LewisInstructional Support
Henry County Public SchoolsPeggy FoleyTechnology Support
Henry CountyJacqueline McDowellTechnology Teacher
Henry County Public SchoolsPhyllis MeadeInstructional Support
Hopewell City Public SchoolsMisty KassebaumTechnology Teacher
Hopewell City Public SchoolsKevin ClearTechnology Support
Hopewell City Public SchoolsKeith ClaassenInstructional Support
Lunenburg County Public SchoolsNatalie CoronasTechnology Support
Lunenburg County Public SchoolsRuth KinkerTechnology Teacher
Lunenburg County Public SchoolsReginald DavisInstructional Support
Martinsville City Public SchoolsLateisha DraperTechnology Support
Martinsville City Public SchoolsJill HolderTechnology Teacher
Martinsville City Public SchoolsShauna HInesInstructional Support
Mecklenburg County Public SchoolsDonna WilsonTechnology Support
Mecklenburg County Public SchoolsGillian SitzanisTechnology Teacher
Mecklenburg County Public SchoolsMelissa ChumneyInstructional Support
Nottoway County Public SchoolsKelley DowneyTechnology Support
Nottoway County Public SchoolsJennifer NelsonTechnology Teacher
Nottoway County Public SchoolsBrenda PayneInstructional Support
Patrick County Public SchoolsMegan StokesTechnology Teacher
Patrick County Public SchoolsTeressa BowmanInstructional Support
Prince Edward County Public SchoolsJason CrabtreeTechnology Support
Prince Edward County Public SchoolsJames WalkerTechnology Teacher
Prince Edward County Public SchoolsSuzanne Smith-TuckerInstructional Support
Sussex County Public SchoolsHeath BainTechnology Support
Sussex County Public SchoolsInez HunterTechnology Teacher
Sussex County Public SchoolsEric ByrdInstructional Support