6th Annual SVRTC Awards Banquet

technology support group_7150
Pictured above are the recipients of the Technology Support award.

Virginia Secretary of Education Laura Fornash was the speaker for the recent SVRTC awards ceremony on campus. The Southside Virginia Regional Technology Consortium (SVRTC), affiliated with Longwood University, recently held its sixth annual awards banquet at Longwood. Teachers and representatives from the 25 school divisions that comprise the consortium were recognized for integrating technology into the classroom. Laura Fornash, Virginia secretary of education, presented the keynote address. The SVRTC coordinates the acquisition and integration of up-to-date and emerging  technologies and training for K-12 students and staff and other citizens to enhance learning and encourage economic development in Southside Virginia. The Institute for Teaching through Technology & Innovative Practices (ITTIP), an outreach of Longwood’s College of Education and Human Services that researches and develops technology-integrated strategies and models, works closely with the SVRTC and is its administrative agent.

teacher tech award group_7134
Pictured above are the recipients of the Teacher Technology Award.

The SVRTC and the ITTIP are headquartered in South Boston. The SVRTC Technology Leadership Award went to Dr. Amy Griffin, superintendent of the Cumberland County schools, who is a Longwood alumna. She earned a B.S. at Longwood in 1989 and an M.S. at Longwood in 1995. The award recognizes an administrator, educator, or community member who advances technology in the educational setting. The SVRTC Division Leadership Award was presented to the Charlotte County school division. The award recognizes an SVRTC school division that advances technology in the educational setting.

instruc support award_7166
Pictured above are the recipients of the Instructional Technology Award.

“This exciting consortium brings together several communities, K-12 education and higher education to form an innovative partnership focused on student learning and success through technology,” Secretary Fornash said in her remarks. “In our fast-paced society, our students, teachers and parents need to keep up with the ever-changing technology. Students must access to technology that will enhance learning, increase productivity, promote creativity and help equalize learning opportunities.”The ceremony, held March 22, was attended by Longwood President Patrick Finnegan, who presented the Technology Teacher Awards. Secretary Fornash presented the Division Leadership and Technology Leadership awards; Dr. Deneese Jones, dean of Longwood’s College of Education and Human Services, presented the Technology Support Awards; and Troilen Seward, legislative advocate for the Virginia State Reading Association, presented the Instructional Support Awards.

2012 Awardees

SVRTC DivisionAward RecipientSVRTC Technology Award
Amelia County Public SchoolsValarie HarrisTechnology Teacher
Amelia County Public SchoolsBo LynchTechnology Support
Appomattox County Public SchoolsPhillp AmosTechnology Support
Appomattox County Public SchoolsAdele RichardsonTechnology Teacher
Appomattox County Public SchoolsSusan WilliamsInstructional Support
Brunswick County Public SchoolsScott EdmondsTechnology Support
Brunswick County Public SchoolsRachelle Hawkins-WessonTechnology Teacher
Buckingham County Public SchoolsJoan ShumakerTechnology Support
Charlotte County Public SchoolsSharon CardTechnology Support
Charlotte County Public SchoolsJenna FinneganTechnology Teacher
Charlotte County Public SchoolsSandy FlynnInstructional Support
Colonial Heights City Public SchoolsJose MoralesTechnology Support
Colonial Heights City SchoolsMelissa ChanceTechnology Teacher
Colonial Heights City Public SchoolsBuddy PalatiereInstructional Support
Cumberland County Public SchoolsCharles MotterTechnology Support
Cumberland County Public SchoolsStephanie LennonTechnology Teacher
Cumberland County Public SchoolsGail DossInstructional Support
Dinwiddie County Public SchoolsPatty MassengillTechnology Support
Dinwiddie County Public SchoolsCeleste PottsTechnology Teacher
Dinwiddie County Public SchoolsCatina ChapmanInstructional Support
Henry County Public SchoolsMichael PalmerTechnology Support
Henry County Public SchoolsElizabeth RussellInstructional Support
Hopewell City Public SchoolsSusannah BishopTechnology Teacher
Hopewell City Public SchoolsCarolyn KaufmanInstructional Support
Hopewell City Public SchoolsEdrick CofieldTechnology Support
Lunenburg County Public SchoolsJanie ChapmanTechnology Support
Lunenburg County Public SchoolsJessica WatsonTechnology Teacher
Lunenburg County Public SchoolsStephanie PowersInstructional Support
Martinsville City Public SchoolsMatthew DavisTechnology Support
Martinsville City Public SchoolsTeresa DavisTechnology Teacher
Martinsville City Public SchoolsLinda RobinsonInstructional Support
Mecklenburg County Public SchoolsRon GoodwinTechnology Support
Mecklenburg County Public SchoolsJoni CardTechnology Teacher
Mecklenburg County Public SchoolsLaura PittardInstructional Support
Nottoway County Public SchoolsBurke GeorgeTechnology Teacher
Nottoway County Public SchoolsJudy DeichmanInstructional Support
Patrick County Public SchoolsStephen BiedryckiTechnology Teacher
Patrick County Public SchoolsGale TroupInstructional Support
Pittsylvania County Public SchoolsCarole RobertsTechnology Support
Pittsylvania County Public SchoolsAngela CarlsenTechnology Teacher
Prince Edward County Public SchoolsKathleen BiggersInstructional Support
Prince Edward County Public SchoolsJames ReynoldsTechnology Teacher
Prince George County Public SchoolsDaniel ScottTechnology Teacher
Sussex County Public SchoolsMichelle KohlerTechnology Teacher